Michael Gleason

Michael Gleason Web Bio Headshot
Senior Policy Analyst, Center for Space Policy and Strategy

Dr. Michael P. Gleason is a national security senior project engineer in The Aerospace Corporation’s Center for Space Policy and Strategy. Prior to joining Aerospace, he supported the Office of the Secretary of Defense’s Office of Net Assessment as a senior strategic space analyst. He served 29 years in the Air Force and is an accomplished national security space expert with experience in space policy, strategy, satellite operations, and international affairs. While in the Air Force, he served for five years at the Pentagon and for two years at the Department of State. He is the lead author of the 2013 Air Force Space Policy and co-author of NASA’s congressionally directed 2016 Space Traffic Management Study.

Gleason has presented his space policy research at conferences in Europe, Canada and in the United States and has many publications to his credit. He taught international relations, geopolitics, U.S. national space policy, american government and national security at the U.S. Air Force Academy and was the Political Science Department’s international relations division chief. Gleason is an experienced spacecraft operator with expertise in meteorological (DMSP), telecommunication (Milstar, DSCS), and missile warning (DSP) satellite operations. He also worked as an Air Force geopolitical officer in the Asia-Pacific region where he served as desk officer for China, Indonesia, and Australia. In addition, Gleason held positions as a C-130 Hercules airlift wing executive officer and chief of public affairs. He has augmented U.S. air attaché support at the U.S. Embassy in Beijing, China and Copenhagen, Denmark.


Gleason earned a bachelor’s degree from the United States Air Force Academy, a master’s degree in international relations from Troy State University, and a Ph.D. in international relations from George
Washington University.

Awards and Honors

Gleason received the Defense Superior Service Medal, the Department of State Superior Honor Award, and the Defense Meritorious Service Medal.